RSS

Make room on the bandwagon!

10 Apr

Pamela’s P&G Diner

I’d venture to believe that the vast majority of Pittsburghers have been to one of Pamela’s locations and tried their famous crepe style pancakes.  I had heard about them, and not being a huge fan of crepes, I wasn’t champing at the bit to get to taste them.  What is wrong with me?!  These are some the of yummiest sweet breakfast food that I have ever eaten!  Just the right sweetness, crispy edges, the right amount of filling, really just perfect.  The Pamela’s bandwagon?  Yep, I am on it and want to ride it again and again.

I went to the Pamela’s in the Strip District- which on a side note, is my favorite Pittsburgh neighborhood so far. We went on a Saturday, dumb I know, and there was a line out the door.  So we put or name in and went over to La Prima Espresso Company for a cup of Joe.  Who were we kidding?  That place was just as much of a madhouse, filled with every Italian man in western PA!  But, we got our coffee and braved the winter morning (it was really an unseasonably warm early March morning).  After about 45 minutes, we got our table at Pamela’s and experienced the crepe pancake festivities.DELISH!

The rest of their breakfast is pretty average.  Nothing to write home about… well, except those breakfast potatoes.  They are kinda like a cheesy breakfast potato casserole.  Quite delicious.  I think, next time I am there, I will ask for the potatoes to be well done so they get a bit more crispy.  The taste was right on point, but the texture was a little to squishy for me.  But portions- HUGE.  Bring a friend huge.

The place is fun and funky with lots of PGH history.  A MUST for when visitors come into town.  I am looking forward to another Saturday morning in the Strip!

Grade for Pamela’s P&G Diner:

A+ for the crepe pancakes, C+ for the rest of breakfast

Pamela's P & G Diner (Strip District) on Urbanspoon

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 10, 2012 in Breakfast Cafe, Strip District

 

One response to “Make room on the bandwagon!

  1. Romina

    April 11, 2012 at 10:16 am

    I have something to add: Going to other Pamela’s in Pittsburgh is not the same. Stick to the one in the Strip District, specially if you’re trying for the first time. Don’t let the long line out the door intimidate you. There’s plenty of tables and it’s a short wait.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

