RSS

Heaven is a 7-minute walk from my door…

09 Apr

… and I couldn’t be happier about it!

Quiet Storm

Vegetarian and Vegan Cafe

I have been to this place a number of times but have yet to blog about it.  A few weeks ago, yes… I am quite behind in my blogging, I went with two others for a nice brunch at Quiet Storm.  Let me start of this post by saying that I may be a bit biased in this review- this place is fully vegetarian, only a short walk from my house, their logo is an owl (my fav!) and they have an item on the menu that pays homage to my all-time favorite restaurant in the whole world, The Chicago Diner, in my home city.  So… does this place have great veggie food, good service, good atmosphere, and good coffee?  Yes, but it may also get a bit higher of a review in my book because of all the aforementioned qualities- just a little disclaimer! :-)

Here is what we had:

East Ender Salad was delish, fresh, and filling! Roasted potatoes, chicken-fried tofu, TVP (textured veggie protein) bacon on top of mixed greens and veggies.  With ranch dressing or vegan curry dressing.  Ummm…yes please!  It was a delicious brunch alternative to heavier “bacon” and eggs.

Migas (mé-gahs)
Tex-Mex egg scramble loaded with tomatoes, onions, jalapeños, cheddar & crushed corn tortillas. With black beans, salsa & tortilla. The scramble was lovely- plenty of eggs and covered with a nice amount of cheddar and tortillas. The beans were also good, but there were WAY to many- I only ate about a quarter of what was offered.  This was a big portion of just about everything and I would split it next time I order it.  Overall,very tasty!

Hangover Hash
Roasted jumble of potatoey goodness changes each week. With scrambled tofu (or eggs), wheat toast & fruit.  The meat-eater in our group, who I may have forgotten to tell this was a veggie restaurant, got the hash for breakfast and LOVED it.  She said the actual hash was as good as the “real” deal.  A compliment, for sure!

Quiet Storm serves up locally sourced coffee that is pretty darn good.  They also now have wifi, so when on the East End, swing by! Our server asked us what neighborhood we thought we were in.  I said Garfield.  Somebody else said Friendship, another said East Liberty.  I don’t know that we every fully decided (so we went with East End), but one thing we did all decide on- this place is a must for any self-respecting veggie in the ‘burgh! And you meat-eatters can find plenty to satisfy your tummy as well!

                        

Overall grade for Quiet Storm: A

Quiet Storm on Urbanspoon

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

